Staff

Community Action is more than a job to us. It’s a cause we’re honored to get behind.

 

Kate White, Executive Director

Kate Birnbryer White, MCA’s Executive Director, leads organizational efforts to increase the public’s awareness of the contributions that Community Action Agencies make to improve the lives of their clients and the quality of life in their communities.  White has provided expertise, leadership and advocacy, working for nonprofits for 26 years.

Before joining MCA, White served as the President & CEO of Elder Law of Michigan, Inc., where she grew a single statewide program into a state and national advocate in the fields of law, aging, elder abuse prevention and the economically disadvantaged. 

White has prior experience with the United Way of Genesee and Lapeer Counties, Operation ABLE of Michigan and the Office of Services to the Aging.  She earned a bachelor of arts degree at Michigan State University in Interdisciplinary Humanities. 

e: kwhite@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6400

Kate White

Chere Coleman, Program & Policy Director

Chere Coleman is MCA’s Program & Policy Director, responsible for a variety of the Association’s programs, including Efficiency United and the Michigan Energy Assistance Program.  Coleman also focuses on building and strengthening trade partnerships and alliances.

Prior to joining MCA in 2010, Coleman was well integrated within the housing/building market and energy programs design sector.  She has dedicated several years of her career to nonprofit associations and is passionate about the work of human service agencies advocating prosperity for all members of Michigan’s communities.  Coleman earned a Master of Arts degree in Organizational Leadership from Siena Heights University and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Professional Communications.

 

e: ccoleman@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6405
Chere Coleman

Mike Shalley, Member Services Director

Mike Shalley leads the Members Services Division that handles external communications, training and support of member agencies. One highlight of Mike’s career was planning and producing Michigan Community Action’s 50th Anniversary Dinner featuring Governor Rick Snyder and Mark Kennedy Shriver, son of Sargent Shriver, the architect of the War on Poverty.

e: mshalley@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6403
Mike Shalley

Heather Badder, Director of Finance and Human Resources

e: hbadder@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6411
Heather Badder

Keith Schafer, IT Director/Facility Management

e: kschafer@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6399
Keith Schafer

Manju Bisht, Accounting Clerk 

e: mbisht@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6401
Manju Bisht

Nicole Caroen, Finance Assistant

e: ncaroen@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6410
Nicole Caroen

Laurie Feltner, Grant Administrator/Member Services

e: lfeltner@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6402
Laurie Feltner

Maddy Kamalay, Member Services Specialist

e: mkamalay@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6421
Maddy Kamalay

Angelia Miller, Grant Administration

e: amiller@micommunityaction.org
o: 517.679.6391
Angelia Miller